Villas Cipreses


It’s a pleasure for us to welcome you in Villas Cipreses, we hope you to visit and to enjoy of our installations…

more about Villas Cipreses


News & Promotions


Villas Cipreses has for you lots of recreational activities for the whole family joy, as soccer fields, natural paths, tours…

more about activities

Canton of Grecia...

During the Pre-Columbian period, the territory that is actually the canton of Grecia was resided by natives of the Western Huetar, whom at the beginning of the Conquer Period were dominated by the Cacique Garabito.

After the Independence, the government proclaimed in 1825, an executive decree that stated that they will award the citizens that found new paths or made new lanes that communicate with unexplored lands of the national territory.

The first ones of this canton, stablished at west Poas, around the 18th century, they came from San Jose, Heredia and Barva. Since then, the landscape of Grecia has been characterized for the plantations of coffee and sugar cane.

Some years later, in the law #69 of May 9th, 1838, the government of Mr. Manuela Aguilar Chacon, authorized the citizens to build a church in the town, which will be called Grecia, and that is how Grecia is founded in April 27, 1838.
Grecia is the canton number 3 of the province of Alajuela, and it is located at 50 km from the northwest of the city of San Jose and it is the downtown of this canton.

Extension and limits

It has a territorial area of 395.72 km2, and it is divided in seven districts: San Isidro, San Jose, San Roque, Tacares, Rio Cuarto, Puente de Piedra and Bolivar, plus the downtown.

Its geographic limits are: to the east with Poas and Alajuela. In the high part, the division is made by the Achiote River, which also bifurcates with Tacares River where the division is continued. At the height of Santa Gertrudis Sur, the Tacares River is bifurcated into the Prendas River, until the Poas River; to the north, it limits with the cantons of Valderde Vega and Poas, it is good to mention that inside the limits it is located the Poas Volcano National Park.

To the south with Alajuela and Atenas, at west it limits with tha canton of Valverde Vega, besides with Naranjo and a little sector of Atenas.

The limit is defined by the Sarchi River, until the sector where it combines with the Agualote River and form the Grande River.

The data that is stated in the official document of the Territorial Administrative Division are:


Km 2





San Isidro



San José



San Roque






Río Cuarto



Puente Piedra









The canton is divided in two parts: the south part is located in the central zone of the country, it belongs to the occidental region of the central high zone of Costa Rica, and it is part of the San Ramon’s Grande River Basin. The north part of the canton is the district of Rio Cuarto, which is a bridge between the cantons of San Carlos and Sarapiqui, in the north zone of the country.

Economical Activities

Nowadays there is a wide diversity of crops, for example the tomatoes, ornamental plants and the fern. In the sector of Rio Cuarto, because of the influence of the north zone of the country, there are farming, poultry and touristic activities. Also, there are some pineapple crops.
Also, it is remarkable the commerce and industry.


In the infrastructure of the canton, there is a web of asphalted roads in the seven districts of the Central Valley and Rio Cuarto.


Characteristics of every district

Grecia Downtown

It has an extension of 66 km2; it has an approximated height of 999 meters above the sea level, and its conformed by the zones of Carmona, Cavaría, Colón, Jiménez, Pinos, Rincón de Arias, San Antonio and San Vicente, as well with Celina. It is the district that has the more poblation, with almost 30% of the total poblation.

San Isidro

It has 18,09 km2; with an approximated height of 1.290 m. and it is conformed by La Primavera, Alfaro, Bajo Achiote, Camejo, Cooperativa, Corinto, Higuerones, Mesón, Mojón and Quizarral.

San Jose

It has 12,42 km2 and it is 1.074 m. height. It is conformed by the towns of Arena, Cedro, Delicias (a part of), Guayabal (a part of), Loma, Rodriguez, Santa Gertrudis Norte and Santa Gertrudis Sur.

San Roque
It has an extension of 26,14 km2; it is located at 1.077 meters above the sea level, and it is conformed by the towns of Agualote, Bajo Sapera, Casillas, Latino, San Miguel Arriba, Cabuyal, Carbonal, Coyotera and San Miguel.


It has an extension of 26,84 km2 and its approximately height is 800 m. it has a town named Pinto and some little towns: Bodegas, Cataluña, Cerdas, Delicias (a part of), Flores, Guayabal (a part of), Pilas, Planta, Provenir and Yoses.

Rio Cuarto
It has an extension of 254,20 km2, that is to say, more than a half of the total are of Grecia. It is formed by the towns of: Ángeles Norte, Bolaños, Caño Negro, Carmen, Carrizal, Colonia del Toro, Crucero, Flor, Laguna, Merced, Palmar, Palmera, Pata de Gallo, Peoresnada, Pinar, Pueblo Negro, San Fernando, San Gerardo (a part of), San Jorge, San Rafael, San Vicente, Santa Isabel, Santa Rita and Tabla. This district is characterized by the separation that it has from the others, in the Huetar Norte Region.

Puente de Piedra

It has 22,86 km2; it has two towns, Poró and Sevilla, also, there are altos de Peralta, Argentina, Bajo Cedros, Lomas, Montezuma, Puerto Escondido, Raicero, Rincón de Salas and Rosales.


It has an extension of 30,31 km2, this district has its main town in Los Angeles. It is formed by Cajon, Cocobolo, Murillo, San Juan, San Luis and Virgencita.

Information taken of the webpage of the Municipality of Grecia.


Photo Gallery

Zonas Verdes
Sala de Eventos
Sport Areas
Events Special

    Copyright 2008 - Villas Cipreses - Powered by Zona Digital